DigiPoll@Energy

Digitalization and Industry 4.0 have a far-reaching impact on the energy sector. For stakeholders of all generation technologies, new opportunities and chances to optimize processes, leverage efficiency potential, reduce costs, and exploit new business models arise on all steps of the value stream.

Background

Digitalization and Industry 4.0 have a far-reaching impact on the energy sector. For stakeholders of all generation technologies, new opportunities and chances to optimize processes, leverage efficiency potential, reduce costs, and exploit new business models arise on all steps of the value stream. One highly discussed example is the data-driven predictive maintenance, which is equally relevant for different generation assets such as wind energy turbines and thermal power plants.

At the same time, new challenges arise from the digitalization. New competitors enter the market, new skills are required, IT security becomes essential, regulatory uncertainties appear – to name some of the main challenges.

Objective and content

The objective of the VGB project DigiPoll@Energy is to identify best practices across generation technologies and value chain steps and thereby prepare the ground for joint research projects and actions. Thereby, the VGB aims to support its members to benefit from the opportunities of the digitalization while mitigating the risks of the challenges.

The VGB project DigiPoll@Energy conducts a poll to analyze the as-is as well as the to-be state of the digital transformation in the energy sector regarding the approach and the applications. Besides questions targeting the implementation approach as well as digital applications and their benefits, a digital maturity level assessment of the core processes is conducted.

Therefore, the resulting 5 DigiPoll@Energy guiding questions are:

  • What is the digital maturity level of the core processes?
  • Which digital applications are currently used/are planned?
  • What is the expected benefit?
  • What are the challenges, risks, and bottlenecks?
  • How is the transformation approached?

Procedure and data management

The poll is directed to all VGB members. An email with an invitation to participate will be sent out in October 2019. After completion of the poll, selected members will be invited for deep-dive interviews to detail the given answers further.

The concluding report will be made available to all VGB members in July 2020.

The poll data will be stored on secure servers in Germany by VGB PowerTech e.V. and only be analyzed anonymously. The VGB project is supported scientifically by the Chair of Environmental Process Engineering and Plant Design (Prof. Görner) of the University Duisburg-Essen.

DigiPoll@Energy

Digitalisierung und Industrie 4.0 verändern den Energiesektor tiefgreifend. Für Akteure aller Erzeugungstechnologien ergeben sich auf allen Wertschöpfungsstufen eine Vielzahl von neuen Möglichkeiten und Chancen um Prozessabläufe zu optimieren,

Hintergrund

Digitalisierung und Industrie 4.0 verändern den Energiesektor tiefgreifend. Für Akteure aller Erzeugungstechnologien ergeben sich auf allen Wertschöpfungsstufen eine Vielzahl von neuen Möglichkeiten und Chancen um Prozessabläufe zu optimieren, Effizienzpotentiale zu heben, Kosten zu reduzieren und neue Umsatzmöglichkeiten zu erschließen. Ein prominentes Beispiel ist die datengetriebene zustandsbasierte Instandhaltung, predictive maintenance, welche gleichermaßen relevant für unterschiedliche Energieerzeugungsanlagen, wie Windenergieanlagen und thermische Kraftwerke, ist.

Gleichzeitig entstehen durch die Digitalisierung auch Herausforderungen. Neue Akteure drängen in den Markt, neue Fähigkeiten werden benötigt, IT Sicherheit wird unumgänglich, regulatorische Unklarheiten entstehen – um nur einige der Herausforderungen zu nennen.

Ziel und Inhalt

Ziel des VGB-Projekts DigiPoll@Energy ist es, technologie- und wertschöpfungsschrittübergreifend Best Practices zu identifizieren und gemeinsamen Forschungsprojekten und Maßnahmen den Weg zu bereiten. So kann der VGB seine Mitglieder bestmöglich dabei unterstützen, die Chancen der Digitalisierung zu nutzen und die Herausforderungen zu meistern.

Das VGB-Projekt DigiPoll@Energy analysiert auf Basis einer Umfrage den Ist- und Planzustand der digitalen Transformation im Energiesektor bezüglich der Herangehensweise und der Anwendungen. Neben Fragen zur Umsetzung und zu digitalen Anwendungen sowie deren Nutzen wird weiterhin eine Reifegradanalyse der Kernprozesse durchgeführt.

So ergeben sich die 5 DigiPoll@Energy Leitfragen:

  • Wie ist der digitale Reifegrad der Kernprozesse?
  • Welche digitalen Anwendungen werden aktuell genutzt / sind in Planung?
  • Was ist der Nutzen?
  • Was sind Hindernisse?
  • Wie wird die Digitalisierung angegangen?

Ablauf und Datenmanagement

Die Umfrage richtet sich an die VGB-Mitgliedsunternehmen. Diese werden im Oktober 2019 eine Einladung zur Teilnahme per Email erhalten. Nach Abschluss der Umfrage werden ausgewählte Unternehmen zu Deep-Dive Interviews eingeladen, um die in der Umfrage gegebenen Antworten weiter zu konkretisieren.

Der abschließende Bericht wird im Juli 2020 allen VGB Mitgliedern zur Verfügung stehen.

Die Umfragedaten der teilnehmenden Unternehmen werden durch den VGB PowerTech e. V. auf deutschen Servern gehostet und in anonymisierter Form weiterverarbeitet.

Das VGB Projekt wird wissenschaftlich durch den Lehrstuhl für Umweltverfahrens- und Anlagentechnik (Prof. Görner) der Universität Duisburg-Essen unterstützt.