Heinrich-Mandel Prize 2013

The Board of Trustees of the VGB-FORSCHUNGSSTIFTUNG awarded the Heinrich-Mandel Prize 2013 to
  • Sandra Schmidt for her analysis and optimisation of the CO2 sequestration with Monoethanolamin (MEA) at the lignite-fired power plant Niederaußem and to
  • Dr. Bjoern Brosch for his numerical simulation of grate firing systems for biomass combustion.

The Heinrich-Mandel Prize, endowed with a total of 10,000 Euros, was handed over by the VGB chairman on the occasion of the VGB Congress "Power Plants 2013" in Maastricht, The Netherlands on September 25, 2013.


Gerd Jäger and Erland Christensen awarding the 2013 Heinrich-Mandel Prize to Sandra Schmidt and Björn Brosch.
(The photo shows from left to right: Björn Brosch and Sandra Schmidt, Heinrich-Mandel Prize Winners 2013, Erland Christensen, VGB Executive Managing Director, Gerd Jäger, Chairman of the VGB Board of Directors)