Flexibility Toolbox now available

The Flexibility Toolbox – a study on potential measures enabling flexible operation of coal fired power plants – was formally handed over to Indian partners on 19 April 2018.
Download - Study
File Type Date Size
VGB flexibility toolbox (Update: 29-04-18) PDF 2018-05-01 9.9 MB

The Flexibility Toolbox – a study on potential measures enabling flexible operation of coal fired power plants – was formally handed over to Indian partners on 19 April 2018.

In 2017 the German Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi) initiated a study on available technologies for flexible operation of thermal power plants – the Flexibility Toolbox. This study has been compiled by VGB PowerTech e.V. and its Indian partner organisation EEC (Excellence Enhancement Centre) jointly with Steag Energy Services GmbH under the auspices of the Indo-German Energy Forum (IGEF).

Übergabe der Studie “Flexibility Toolbox” an die indischen Partner. Meeting at BMWi in Berlin under the leadership of Aniruddha Kumar, Joint Secretary from the Government of India, Wolfdieter Böhler Head of Division, Bilateral Cooperation BMWi – below left; further persons: Prakesh Tiwari (NTPC) and Tobias Winter (GIZ) – below right; upper row from left to right: Rainer Aulfinger (Siemens), A.K. Sinha (NTPC), Jörg Uehlin (GIZ), Hendrik Meller (GIZ), N.K. Sharma (NTPC) and Claudia Weise (VGB PowerTech).

Flexible power plant operation is one of the key topics within the bilateral energy cooperation between India and Germany. The toolbox was handed over to the Indian partners during a meeting of IGEF sub group 1 – focusing on coal based power plants – which took place in Berlin on 19 April 2018.

The toolbox intends to support the change of paradigm in the operation of thermal power plants – from base-load to flexible operation. It reflects that this change process requires suitable technologies, skilled people and leadership with foresight. The toolbox includes 40 different flexibility enhancement measures that require a plant retrofit or major technical intervention.

The measures are assigned to different plant areas and focus on combustion, water-steam cycle, turbine, I&C system and auxiliary systems. The description of each measure includes information about:

  • Flexibility impact
  • Limitations and critical issues that are addressed by the measure
  • Description of the key features related to the measure
  • Estimation of the required investment
  • Time estimation for implementation

Flexibility Toolbox ist online

Die “Flexibility Toolbox” – eine Studie über Maßnahmen zur Erhöhung der Flexibilität kohlebefeuerter Kraftwerke – wurde am 19. April 2018 offiziell an die indischen Partner übergeben.
Download - Study
Datei Typ Datum Grösse
VGB flexibility toolbox (Update: 29-04-18) PDF 01.05.2018 9,9 MB

Die “Flexibility Toolbox” – eine Studie über Maßnahmen zur Erhöhung der Flexibilität kohlebefeuerter Kraftwerke – wurde am 19. April 2018 offiziell an die indischen Partner übergeben.

Im Jahr 2017 hat das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) eine Studie zu verfügbaren Technologien für den flexiblen Betrieb von Wärmekraftwerken – der Flexibility Toolbox – initiiert. VGB PowerTech e.V. hat diese Studie – gemeinsam mit seiner indischen Partnerorganisation EEC (Excellence Enhancement Centre) und der Steag Energy Services GmbH – im Rahmen des Deutsch-Indischen Energieforums (DIEF) erstellt.

Übergabe der Studie “Flexibility Toolbox” an die indischen Partner. Treffen im BMWi in Berlin unter der Leitung von Aniruddha Kumar, Staatssekretär der indischen Regierung, Wolfdieter Böhler, Referatsleiter bilaterale Kooperation im BMWi – unten links; weitere Personen: Prakesh Tiwari (NTPC) und Tobias Winter (GIZ) – unten rechts; obere Reihe von links nach rechts: Rainer Aulinger (Siemens), A.K. Sinha (NTPC), Jörg Uehlin (GIZ), Hendrik Meller (GIZ), N.K. Sharma (NTPC) und Claudia Weise (VGB PowerTech)

Der flexible Kraftwerksbetrieb ist eines der Schlüsselthemen der bilateralen Energiepartnerschaft zwischen Indien und Deutschland. Die Toolbox wurde bei einem Treffen der DIEF-Untergruppe 1 – deren Fokus auf Kohlekraftwerken liegt – am 19. April 2018 in Berlin an die indischen Partner übergeben.

Die Toolbox unterstützt Betreiber von Kohlekraftwerken dabei, die Fahrweise vom Grundlast auf den flexiblen Betrieb umzustellen. Sie enthält Hinweise zu entsprechenden Technologien, Weiterbildungsangeboten und Managementthemen. So beinhaltet die Toolbox beispielsweise 40 verschiedene Maßnahmen zur Erhöhung der Flexibilität, die eine Nachrüstung der Anlage oder größere technische Eingriffe erfordern.

Die Maßnahmen sind verschiedenen Anlagenbereichen zugeordnet und konzentrieren sich auf Verbrennung, Wasser-Dampf-Kreislauf, Turbine, Leittechnik und Hilfssysteme. Die Beschreibung jeder Maßnahme enthält Informationen über:

  • Einfluss auf die Flexibilität
  • Einschränkungen, die durch die Maßnahme behoben werden
  • Merkmale der Maßnahme
  • erforderliche Investitionen
  • Zeitaufwand für die Implementierung