Side Programme and Technical Visits

VGB CONGRESS 2017 - Generation in Competition


The Essen Tourist Center will advise you to plan your personal visit programme.

EMG - Essen Marketing GmbH Ι Essen Tourist Center Ι Am Hauptbahnhof 2 Ι 45127 Essen, Germany

Side Programme - Our recommendations to explore the city to become acquainted

UNESCO-Welterbe Zollverein

Stiftung Zollverein
  ©StiftungZollverein,
  Jochen Tack

Even in times of operation the coal mine “Zollverein” was nominated as the »Most beautiful coal mine of the world«. Yet the industrial monument “Zollverein” is the only world heritage site in the Ruhr area. Visitors can discover history, design, architecture, and cultural activities daily in one of the most fascinating places of industrial history. The Ruhr Museum in the former coal washing plant presents several special exhibitions besides its permanent exhibition of displaying nature and cultural history of the Ruhr area.

Museum Folkwang

Museum Folkwang
  ©Essen Marketing,
  Peter Wieler

The Museum Folkwang ranks among the most important art museums of Germany. It owes because of its outstanding collections of German and French painting and sculptures of the 19th century, different art trends of the 20th century such as cubism, abstract art and expressionism as well as the post-1945 art, the photography and the graphic arts. A special feature is the collection of works by old and non-European artists and the collection of the German Poster Museum, with over 350,000 sheets.

Villa Hügel

VillaHügel170px
  ©Essen Marketing,
  Peter Wieler

Villa Hügel is located in the midst of a 28-hectare parkland with a view over the Baldeneysee. Designed by the industrialist Alfred Krupp in 1868 and completed in 1873, it served as a residence for the Krupp family until 1945. Since 1953, the "Major House" of Villa Hügel has been used for sophisticated art and cultural history exhibitions. From 1953 until the death of Alfried Krupp in 1967, Berthold Beitz was his representative and Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Krupp Foundation. He established the Kulturstiftung Ruhr from his private property in 1984, which has been responsible for the exhibitions since then.

Everything at a glance

Technical Visits

Registration for the technical visit tours can be made using online with the regestration to the VGB Congress. All technical visit tours will only take place provided that the minimum number of participants is reached.

VGB PowerTech e.V. Ι Deilbachtal 173 Ι 45257 Essen Ι P: +49 201 8128 274 Ι Email: ines.moors@vgb.org

Power plant Duisburg-Walsum block 10
Half-day-tour

Date:
Friday, 15 September 2017

  • 09:00 Meeting Point Atlantic Hotel Essen, Essen - Bus shuttle to Walsum
  • 09:50 Arrival at PP Duisburg-Walsum, gate adminstration
  • 10:00 Ensuing vesting and walking tour of the power plant block 10
  • 12:00 End of the visit and departure by bus to Essen
  • about 13:00 Arrival in Essen, Atlantic Hotel Essen

PP Duisburg-Walsum block 10

Steag KW WalsumPlease take note of the following guidelines:

  • The number of participants is limited.
  • The location asks for the wearing of solid footwear (if possible, safety shoes) and weather-proof clothing.
  • Helms are placed from the site.
  • For wheelchair users the area is unfortunately not aligned.

More Information: PP Duisburg-Walsum block 10

Garzweiler opencast mine and Neurath power plant
Day tour incl. lunch

Date:
Friday, 15 September 2017

  • 09:00 Meeting Point Congress Center West, Essen - Bus shuttle to Garzweiler
  • 11:00 Arrival at the Garzweiler information center, short introduction ensuing bus tour through the opencast mine
  • about 12:45 Drive to the Niederaußem power plant and joint lunch at the plant lunchroom
  • 13:45 Drive on to the Neurath power plant
  • 14:00 Arrival at the Neurath information center, ensuing vesting with PPE and walking tour over the power plant site
  • 17:00 End of the visit and return by bus to Essen
  • about 18:30 Arrival in Essen, Congress Center West

Garzweiler opencast mine

Tagebau GarzweilerThe Garzweiler opencast mine is located to the west of Grevenbroich and is moving into the direction of Erkelenz. The mine mainly touches the Rhein-Erft county, Rhein county Neuss and Heinsberg county. Lignite is deposited in three seams which altogether have an average seam thickness of 40 metres. The coal is some 40 to max 210 metres below the Earth's surface. It is used entirely to generate electricity in the nearby power plants.

More Information: Garzweiler opencast mine

Neurath power plant

KW NeurathThe lignite-fired power station with optimised plant engineering (BoA 2&3) is the most modern of its kind in the world. The system in Grevenbroich-Neurath, consisting of two units, backs innovative power-plant engineering. Optimisation of all process steps in power generation ensures higher efficiency, lower emissions and greater flexibility.

More Information: Neurath power plant

Rahmenprogramm und Technische Besichtigung

VGB KONGRESS 2017 - Erzeugung im Wettbewerb


Die Essener Touristikzentrale steht Ihnen bei der Gestaltung eines persönlichen Programms beratend zur Seite.

EMG - Essen Marketing GmbH Ι Touristikzentrale Ι Am Hauptbahnhof 2 Ι 45127 Essen

Rahmenprogramm
Unsere Empfehlungen, die Stadt kennzulernen

UNESCO-Welterbe Zollverein

Stiftung Zollverein
  ©StiftungZollverein,
  Jochen Tack

Noch zu Betriebszeiten ernannte man die Zeche Zollverein in Essen zur »schönsten Zeche der Welt«. Heute ist das Industrie-denkmal Zollverein erste und bislang einzige Welterbestätteim Ruhrgebiet. Besucher können dort täglich Geschichte, Design, Architektur, Kulturangebote und vieles mehr an einem der faszinierendsten Orte der Industriegeschichte entdecken. Das Ruhr Museum in der ehemaligen Kohlenwäsche zeigt neben seiner Dauerausstellung zur Natur- und Kulturgeschichte des Ruhrgebiets wechselnde Sonderausstellungen.

Museum Folkwang

Museum Folkwang
  ©Essen Marketing,
  Peter Wieler

Das Museum Folkwang zählt zu den bedeutendsten Kunstmuseen Deutschlands. Es verdankt seinen Ruf den herausragenden Sammlungen deutscher und französischer Malerei und Skulpturen des 19. Jahrhunderts, verschiedener Kunstrichtungen des 20. Jahrhunderts wie Kubismus, Abstrakter Kunst und Expressionismus sowie der Kunst nach 1945, der Fotografie und der Grafik. Eine Besonderheit ist die Sammlung von Werken alter und außereuropäischerKunst sowie die Sammlung des Deutschen Plakat Museums mit über 350.000 Blättern.

Villa Hügel

VillaHügel170px
  ©Essen Marketing,
  Peter Wieler

Inmitten einer 28 Hektar großen Parklandschaft mit Blick über den Baldeneyseeliegt die Villa Hügel. 1868 von dem Industriellen Alfred Krupp entworfen und 1873 fertig gestellt, diente sie bis 1945 der Unternehmerfamilie Krupp als Wohnsitz. Seit 1953 wird das "Große Haus" der Villa Hügel für anspruchsvolle kunst- und kulturhistorische Ausstellungen genutzt. Berthold Beitz, von 1953 bis zum Tode von Alfried Krupp im Jahr 1967 dessen Generalbevollmächtigter und Kuratoriumsvorsitzender der Krupp-Stiftung, errichtete 1984 aus seinem Privatvermögen die Kulturstiftung Ruhr, die seither für die Ausstellungen verantwortlich zeichnet.

Alles auf einen Blick

Technische Besichtigungen

Die Anmeldung zu den Technischen Besichtigungsfahrten erfolgt online mit der Registrierung zum VGB-Kongress. Alle Fahrten werden nur durchgeführt, wenn die Mindestteilnehmerzahl erreicht ist. Gerne untersützt Sie bei Ihrer Buchung der Technischen Besichtigungen:

VGB PowerTech e.V. Ι Deilbachtal 173 Ι 45257 Essen Ι T: +49 201 8128 274 Ι Email: ines.moors@vgb.org

Kraftwerk Duisburg-Walsum Block 10
Halbtagestour

Datum: Freitag, 15. September 2017

Ablauf:

  • 09:00 Treffpunkt Atlantic Hotel Essen, Essen
    Fahrt mit dem Bus nach Walsum
  • 09:50 Ankunft am KW Duisburg-Walsum, Pforte Verwaltung
  • 10:00 Einkleiden und Besichtigung Block 10
  • 12:00 Ende des Besuchs und Abreise per Bus nach Essen
  • ca. 13:00 Ankunft in Essen, Atlantic Hotel Essen

KW Duisburg-Walsum Block 10

In Duisburg-Walsum betreibt die STEAG die Kraftwerksblöcke 9 und 10. Die Geschichte des Standortes beginnt bereits 1928 als die ersten Anlagen dem Energiehilfsbetrieb des Bergwerks Walsum dienten. Zuletzt ging Ende 2013 der Block 10 in Betrieb, der im regulären Betrieb eine Nettoleistung von 725 MW anstrebt.

Weitere Informationen:
Broschüre KW Walsum

Steag Kraftwerk Walsum Kraftwerk Walsum

Bitte beachten Sie folgende Hinweise:

  • Die Teilnehmerzahl ist limitiert.
  • Der Standort bittet um das Tragen festen Schuhwerks (sofern möglich, Sicherheitsschuhe) und witterungsentsprechende Kleidung.
  • Helme werden vom Standort gestellt.
  • Für Rollstuhlfahrer ist das Gelände leider nicht ausgerichtet.

Braunkohletagebau Garzweiler und Kraftwerk Neurath
Tagestour inkl. Mittagessen

Datum: Freitag, 15. September 2017

Ablauf:

  • 09:00 Treffpunkt CC West, Essen Fahrt mit dem Bus nach Garzweiler
  • 11:00 Ankunft am Infocenter Garzweiler, kurze Einführung mit anschließender Fahrt mit dem Bus durch den Tagebau
  • ca. 12:45 Weiterfahrt zum Kraftwerk Niederaußem und gemeinsames Mittagessen in der Kraftwerkskantine
  • 13:45 Weiterfahrt nach Neurath
  • 14:00 Ankunft am Infocenter Neurath, anschließend einkleiden mit PSA und Rundgang über das Kraftwerksgelände
  • 17:00 Ende des Besuchs und Abreise per Bus nach Essen
  • ca. 18:30 Ankunft in Essen, Congress Center West

Tagebau Garzweiler

Der Tagebau Garzweiler liegt westlich von Grevenbroich und entwickelt sich in Richtung Erkelenz. Der Tagebau berührt im Wesentlichen den Rhein-Erft-Kreis, den Rhein-Kreis Neuss und den Kreis Heinsberg. Die Braunkohle ist in drei Flözen abgelagert, die zusammen durchschnittlich 40 Meter stark sind. Die Kohle liegt zwischen rund 40 und maximal 210 Metern tief unter der Erdoberfläche. Sie dient ausschließlich zur Stromerzeugung in den nahe gelegenen Kraftwerken.

Weitere Informationen: Tagebau Garzweiler

Tagebau Garzweiler Tagebau Garzweiler

Kraftwerk Neurath

Das Braunkohlenkraftwerk mit optimierter Anlagentechnik – BoA 2&3 – ist das weltweit modernste seiner Art. Die aus zwei Blöcken bestehende Anlage in Grevenbroich-Neurath setzt auf innovative Kraftwerkstechnologie. Optimierungen auf allen Verfahrensschritten der Stromerzeugung sorgen für höhere Effizienz, geringere Emissionen und größere Flexibilität.

Weitere Informationen: Kraftwerk Neurath

KW Neurath Kraftwerk Neurath