Abstracts - VGB PowerTech Journal 10/2020

100 years VGB: Welcome address

Thomas Kufen

I am very pleased about the invitation to the 100th anniversary of VGB PowerTech.

I very much welcome the fact that VGB PowerTech will not miss the opportunity to celebrate this anniversary despite the Corona Pandemic – on a small scale on the Energy-Campus Deilbachtal and with the online guests live on screen. I am glad and relieved that strict hygiene measures – as they are also observed on site – make it possible to be together and that digital technology also allows us to meet virtually.[more...]

Global aspects on coal combustion products

David Harris, Craig Heidrich und Joachim Feuerborn

As global energy demand and electrification rates increase, coal remains the most abundantly consumed fossil fuel for the production of electrical power. At the same time, international agreements and local policies are driving a transition towards alternative energy sources, with a central focus on reducing CO2 emissions associated with fossil fuel combustion. Coal combustion by products are well established as valuable, high volume inputs for the manufacture of construction and building materials. They provide functional benefits in these applications and, as substitutes for energy intensive materials such as cement, sand and aggregates, they provide options for lower embedded carbon. The paper is jointly written by members of the World Wide Coal Combustion Products Network and is the result of an ongoing, international collaboration between respective country industry associations, being non-governmental organizations (NGO’s).

Download [2.2 MB]

Developments in CCP management in Europe

Ivan Skidmore and Joachim Feuerborn

About half of the European energy production is based on fossil fuels. The energy strategies of the European Commission require CO2 reduction, increased production by renewables and energy savings. Each member state has its own answer for CO2 savings due to dependencies in coal-fired generation from zero to about 85 %. Also energy security has to be considered starting with fuel availability, economics in production and grid stability. The report gives an update on developments of regulations impacting the production of energy by coal-fired power plants and also quality and quantity of CCPs.

Download [2.5 MB]

Production and utilisation of coal combustion products

Thomas Eck

Coal combustion products are produced during the generation of electricity in coal fired power plants. In the last years more than 20 million tonnes per year were produced and utilised in Germany. CCPs like boiler slag, bottom ash, fly ash or FGD gypsum were used since many years as quality controlled raw material or building material in the construction industry or in civil engineering as well as for restoration and reclamation purposes in open cast mines. The power plant operators spent much effort in producing a quality material which can easily be utilized. This leads to high utilization rates of about 96 to 100 percent. This article gives an overview about the results of the VGB survey “Production and utilisation of CCPs in Germany” of the years 2008 to 2019.

Download [2.1 MB]

Implementation of Basic Requirement 3 in harmonized product standards – update on CEN/TC 351 for test procedures and status of work in CEN/TC 104/WG4 for implementation into EN 450-1 –

Udo Wiens and Angelo Saraber

The Construction Products Regulation (CPR) entered force in July 2013 and requires i. a. the implementation of Basic Work Requirements No 3 on „Hygiene, Health and the Environment“ into harmonized product standards. A precondition for this work is the availability of horizontal test standards which are developed in CEN/TC 351. As the standards are available as CEN/TS and will enter the CEN-enquiry route at the beginning of next year for conversion into ENs the work for implementation of existing regulations for construction products can be started. TC 104/WG 4 „Fly ash for concrete“ started the work on existing (notified) regulations and prepared a proposal for the implementation of BWR3 into EN 450-1 for fly ash for concrete. This contribution is to update on the development in CEN/TC 351 and CEN/TC 104/WG4 since 2017.

Wood fly ash as cement replacement – screening of different pre-treatments for optimization of WA characteristics

Lisbeth M. Ottosen, Benjamin Ebert, Nina M. Sigvardsen, Pernille E. Jensen and Gunvor M. Kirkelund

Two wood fly ashes (WAs) with different properties were tested for low level replacement (5 or 10 %) of cement in mortar. WA1 was sprayed with water directly after the incinerator at the plant, which resulted in hydration whereas WA2, which had not been sprayed did contain CaO. There is no current standard regulating use of WA as partly cement replacement, and thus EN 450-1, which is the current standard covering ashes from co-combustion of wood and coal, was used to evaluate the composition of the investigated WAs.

Implementation of the next generation slagging prediction tool to a large scale pf boiler fired with lignite blends

Piotr Plaza, Bernhard Schopfer, Jörg Maier, Thomas Brunne and Günter Scheffknecht

Changing quality of lignite may affect significantly the operation of modern large scale lignite fired pf boilers. One of the main risks is associated with decreasing ash quality and occurrence of the elevated slagging/fouling in a boiler. Firing a proper mixture of lignite coals or/and changing boiler operational conditions can mitigate the risk. This paper presents relevant results from the implementation and validation of the next generation slagging prediction tool in Boxberg power plant (Unit Q) fired with blends of Nochten and Reichwalde lignite. The use of slagging prediction tool developed combined with the online ash deposition monitoring probe can help operators avoid much of the uncertainty associated with decisions related to fuel selection and operating procedures in order to achive highly efficient boiler operation without elevated slagging risk.

Assessment of the nutrient and heavy metal content of wood ash from Bavarian heat (and power) plants

Hans Bachmaier, Daniel Kuptz and Hans Hartmann

Ashes from biomass heating (and power) plants that apply natural fuels may be suitable for the use as fertilisers if certain requirements regarding pollutants and nutrient contents are met. The range and average values of relevant nutrients and pollutants in wood ashes from Bavarian biomass heating and power plants were determined by on-site sampling. Quality assurance systems should be applied at biomass heating plants to improve ash quality if wood ashes should be used as fertilisers in agriculture. The analysis of the main nutrients showed high values for potassium and calcium, but also relevant amounts of phosphorus in wood ashes, making them suitable as fertilisers if pollutant limits are met.

Stratego. A treatment plant for the preparation of non-ferrous metal mixtures

Georg Rottlaender

In Germany, approximately 6 million tonnes of slag are produced annually in household and commercial waste incineration plants. Approximately 460,000 tonnes of metals can be recovered from these slags in special slag processing plants (SA plants). The development of increasingly efficient non-ferrous separators has also made it possible to recover metal particles in the fine range (0 to 3 mm). Due to the precious metals contained in the fine range, this grain spectrum requires special treatment which will be explained.

Hazardous property HP 14 of municipal waste incineration bottom ash

Hermann Nordsieck, Karsten Wambach, Ragnar Warnecke and Wolfgang Rommel

Incineration of residual municipal waste renders it inert and allows for energy recovery, but leaves huge amounts of incinerator bottom ash (IBA). Considering the amount of this stream of waste, proper assessment of hazardous properties has high importance. Eco-toxicity (HP 14) is the most critical hazardous property in the classification of waste incineration bottom ash. The work presented here is the basis of HP 14 assessment in the municipal waste IBA classification guidance issued by the German confederations of waste incinerator plants (ITAD) and IBA treatment plants (IGAM).

A journey through 100 years VGB | The early years, 1920ies and 1930ies

  • The foundation of the VGB 1920
    VGB Association
  • Avoidance of double work. Progress in America. Operation experience
    VGB Association
  • Operating experience in the Moscow Municipal Power Plant
    I. W. Nikolaew

Ausgabe - VGB PowerTech Journal 10/2020

100 Jahre VGB: Grußworte

Thomas Kufen

Ich freue mich sehr über die Einladung zum 100-jährigen Jubiläum des VGB Power Tech.

Ich begrüße es außerordentlich, dass der VGB PowerTech es sich nicht nehmen lässt, diese Jubiläumsfeier trotz der Corona-Pandemie zu begehen – im kleinen Rahmen auf dem Essener Energie-Campus Deilbachtal und mit den Online-Gästen live am Bildschirm. Ich bin froh und erleichtert, dass mit strengen Hygienemaßnahmen – wie sie auch vor Ort eingehalten werden – ein Zusammensein möglich ist und uns die digitale Technik auch ein virtuelles Zusammenkommen ermöglicht.[weiter...]

Globale Aspekte zu Produkten aus der Kohleverbrennung

David Harris, Craig Heidrich und Joachim Feuerborn

Da der weltweite Energiebedarf und die Elektrifizierungsraten steigen, bleibt Kohle der am meisten verbrauchte fossile Brennstoff für die Produktion von elektrischer Energie. Gleichzeitig treiben internationale Vereinbarungen und lokale Politiken den Übergang zu alternativen (nuklearen, erneuerbaren, ...) Energiequellen voran, wobei die Reduzierung der mit der Verbrennung fossiler Brennstoffe verbundenen CO2-Emissionen im Mittelpunkt steht. Die Nebenprodukte der Kohleverbrennung haben sich als wertvoller, hochvolumiger Input für die Herstellung von Bau- und Baustoffen etabliert. Sie bieten in diesen Anwendungen funktionelle Vorteile und bieten als Ersatz für energieintensive Materialien wie Zement, Sand und Zuschlagstoffe Optionen für Kohlenstoffeinsparungen. Dieser Bericht wurde gemeinsam von Mitgliedern des World Wide Coal Combustion Products Network verfasst und ist das Ergebnis einer fortlaufenden internationalen Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Industrieverbänden der jeweiligen Länder, bei denen es sich um Nichtregierungsorganisationen (NGO‘s) handelt.

Download [2,2 MB]

Entwicklungen im Nebenprodukt(CCP)-Management in Europa

Ivan Skidmore und Joachim Feuerborn

Etwa die Hälfte der europäischen Energieproduktion basiert auf fossilen Brennstoffen. Die Produktion in diesen Kraftwerken steht unter ständigem Druck, die gesetzlichen Anforderungen zur Luftreinhaltung und die Marktanforderungen hinsichtlich Verfügbarkeit und wirtschaftlicher Produktion zu erfüllen. Die Energiestrategien der Europäischen Kommission fordern CO2-Reduktion, Produktionssteigerung durch erneuerbare Energien und Energieeinsparungen. Jeder Mitgliedsstaat hat seine eigene Antwort für CO2-Einsparungen aufgrund von Abhängigkeiten bei der Kohleverstromung von Null bis etwa 85 %. Der Bericht gibt einen aktuellen Überblick über die Entwicklung der Vorschriften, die sich auf die Energieerzeugung durch Kohlekraftwerke sowie auf die Qualität und Quantität der Nebenprodukte (CCPs) auswirken.

Download [2,5 MB]

Produktion und Verwendung von Nebenprodukten aus Kohlekraftwerken

Thomas Eck

Kraftwerksnebenprodukte entstehen bei der Verbrennung von Kohle in Kohlekraftwerken. In Deutschland wurden in den letzten Jahren mehr als 20 Millionen Tonnen Kraftwerksnebenprodukte pro Jahr hergestellt und nahezu vollständig vermarktet. Die Nebenprodukte, wie Schmelzkammergranulat, Kesselsand, Flugasche und Gips werden seit vielen Jahren z.B. als qualitätsüberwachte Roh- und Baustoffe in der Bauindustrie oder im Rahmen von Verfüllungs- und Rekultivierungsmaßnahmen im Braunkohletagebau eingesetzt. Zur qualitätsgesicherten Erzeugung der Kraftwerksnebenprodukte und Erzielung von Verwendungsraten zwischen 96 und 100 % waren und sind erhebliche Anstrengungen der Kraftwerksbetreiber erforderlich. Der Beitrag gibt eine Übersicht über die Ergebnisse der jährlich seitens VGB durchgeführten Erhebung zur Produktion und Verwendung von Kraftwerksnebenprodukten der Jahre 2008 bis 2019.

Download [2,1 MB]

Umsetzung der Grundanforderung Nr. 3 an Bauwerke in harmonisierten Produktnormen – Aktualisierung von CEN/TC 351 für Testverfahren und Stand der Arbeiten in CEN/TC 104/WG4 zur Umsetzung in EN 450-1 -

Udo Wiens und Angelo Saraber

Die Bauprodukte-Verordnung (BauPVO) ist im Juli 2013 in Kraft getreten und bedingt u. a. die Umsetzung der Grundanforderung Nr. 3 an Bauwerke „Hygiene, Gesundheit und Umwelt“ in harmonisierte Produktnormen. Eine Voraussetzung für diese Arbeit ist die Verfügbarkeit von horizontalen Prüfnormen, die im CEN/TC 351 entwickelt werden. Da die Prüfvorschriften als Technische Spezifikationen vorliegen und Anfang 2021 in die CEN-Umfrage zur Überführung in europäische Normen gegeben werden, können diese bei der Überarbeitung bestehender Normen für Bauprodukte berücksichtigt werden. TC 104/WG 4 „Flugasche für Beton“ hat die bestehende (notifizierte) Anforderungen geprüft und einen Vorschlag für die Umsetzung von BWR3 in EN 450-1 für Flugasche für Beton vorbereitet. Dieser Beitrag soll über die Entwicklung in CEN/TC 351 und CEN/TC 104/WG4 seit 2017 informieren.

Holz(flug-)asche als Zementersatz Scree­ning verschiedener Vorbehandlungen zur Optimierung der Holzascheeigenschaften

Lisbeth M. Ottosen, Benjamin Ebert, Nina M. Sigvardsen, Pernille E. Jensen und Gunvor M. Kirkelund

Zwei Holz(flug-)aschen (WA‘s) mit unterschiedlichen Eigenschaften wurden für einen geringen Ersatz (5 oder 10 %) von Zement in Mörtel getestet. WA1 wurde direkt nach der Verbrennungsanlage im Werk mit Wasser besprüht, was zu einer Hydratation führte, während WA2, die nicht besprüht worden war, CaO enthielt. Der Gesamt-Ca-Gehalt in den beiden WAs war ähnlich, aber andere Merkmale variierten. Es gibt keine aktuelle Norm, die die Verwendung von Holz(flug-)aschen als teilweisen Zementersatz regelt. Daher wurde EN 450-1 für Flugasche für Beton, die auch die Mitverbrennung regelt, zur Bewertung der Zusammensetzung der untersuchten WAs herangezogen.

Einsatz des Verschlackungsvorhersage-Tools der nächsten Generation für einen in großem Maßstab staubbefeuerten Kessel mit Braunkohlemischungen

Piotr Plaza, Bernhard Schopfer, Jörg Maier, Thomas Brunne und Günter Scheffknecht

Eine sich ändernde Qualität der Braunkohle kann den Betrieb von modernen, mit Braunkohle befeuerten Großkesseln erheblich beeinträchtigen. Eines der Hauptrisiken ist mit der abnehmenden Aschequalität und dem Auftreten von erhöhter Verschlackung/Verschmutzung in einem Kessel verbunden. In diesem Beitrag werden relevante Ergebnisse zum Einsatz und Validierung des Verschlackungsprognosetools der nächsten Generation im Kraftwerk Boxberg (Block Q) vorgestellt, das mit Mischungen aus Nochten- und Reichwalder Braunkohle befeuert wird. Der Einsatz des entwickelten Verschlackungsvorhersage-Tools in Kombination mit der Online-Überwachungssonde für Ascheablagerungen kann den Betreibern helfen, einen Großteil der Unsicherheiten zu vermeiden, die mit Entscheidungen im Zusammenhang mit der Brennstoffauswahl und den Betriebsverfahren verbunden sind, um einen hocheffizienten Kesselbetrieb ohne erhöhtes Verschlackungsrisiko zu erreichen.

Bewertung der Nährstoff- und Schwermetallgehalte von Holzaschen aus bayerischen Heiz(kraft)werken

Hans Bachmaier, Daniel Kuptz und Hans Hartmann

Aschen von Biomasseheiz(kraft)werken, die naturbelassene Brennstoffe einsetzen, können sich aufgrund der enthaltenen Nährstoffe für Düngezwecke eignen. Dazu müssen die Aschen bestimmte Voraussetzungen z. B. hinsichtlich Schad- und Nährstoffgehalten erfüllen. Durch gezielte Probenahme vor Ort wurden die Bandbreite und die Durchschnittswerte von Nähr- und Schadstoffen in Holzaschen bayerischer Biomasseheiz(kraft)werke ermittelt. Eine generelle stoffliche Verwertbarkeit von Holzaschen, beispielsweise als Düngemittel in der Landwirtschaft, ohne ein vorangeschaltetes Aschequalitätsmanagement kritisch zu hinterfragen.

Stratego. Eine Behandlungsanlage zur Aufbereitung von Nichteisen-Metallgemischen

Georg Rottlaender

In Deutschland fallen jährlich ca. 6 Millionen Tonnen Schlacke bei der Verbrennung von Hausmüll und Gewerbeabfällen in den Hausmüllverbrennungsanlagen an. Aus diesen Schlacken lassen sich ca. 460.000 Tonnen Metalle in speziellen Schlackeaufbereitungsanlagen (SA-Anlagen) zurückgewinnen. Durch die Entwicklung immer leistungsfähigerer NE-Scheider ist auch die Rückgewinnung von Metallpartikeln im Feinbereich (0 bis 3 mm) möglich geworden. Aufgrund der im Feinbereich enthaltenen Edelmetalle bedarf dieses Kornspektrum einer besonderen Behandlung die erläutert wird.

Gefährliche Eigenschaft HP 14 von Rostaschen

Hermann Nordsieck, Karsten Wambach, Ragnar Warnecke und Wolfgang Rommel

Trotz der Anstrengungen zur getrennten Erfassung stofflich verwertbarer Abfälle verbleibt eine große Menge an gemischt anfallenden Abfällen und Sortierresten, die nur energetisch genutzt werden können oder beseitigt werden müssen. Die Einstufung von Abfällen erfolgt nach dem inhärenten Gefahrenpotential der im Abfall vorhandenen Stoffe, dabei spielen die Freisetzbarkeit und der Gesamtgehalt toxischer Elemente zunächst nur eine untergeordnete Rolle. Die hier beschriebenen Ergebnisse sind Grundlage der Bewertung von HP 14 (umweltgefährlich) im Praxisleitfaden der Verbände IGAM und ITAD e.V. „Einstufung von Hausmüllverbrennungs¬schlacken in das Abfallverzeichnis anhand der gefahrenrelevanten Eigenschaften HP1-HP15“.

100 Jahre VGB: Eine Zeitreise | Die Gründerjahre: 1920er/1930er

  • Die Gründung des VGB 1920
    VGB
  • Vermeidung von Doppelarbeit. Fortschritte in Amerika. Betriebserfahrungen
    VGB
  • Betriebserfahrungen im Städtischen Elektrizitätswerk Moskau
    I. W. Nikolaew